Selection Night was a memorable experience for 32 high school juniors from around Tempe. It was the night they were selected to be 2012 Tempe Sister City Delegates to 8 international destinations. The excitement was in the air as each student stepped up on the stage to hear which sister city they will be visiting this summer. Visiting Beaulieu sur Mer, France will be Hollly Berns, Kelsey Files, Colin McCormick,and Kimberely Valentine.

Going to Carlow, Ireland will be

Kendon Brown, Benjamin Nye, Daniel Restrepo, and Megan McGuire. The Cuenca, Ecuador group will be Claudio Quintero-Avelar and Taylor Sagli. Going to Lower Hutt, New Zealand will be Milena Carrera, Michael Harrison, Nathaniel Kroeger, and Hallie Swenson. The Regensburg, Germany group (pictured above) will consist of Lilly Berkley, Megan Burke, Madeleine Caldwell, Jessica Hatch, Amanda Milovich, Alexandria Pazul, Gabriela Reyes, and Maura Tapia. The Skopje , Macedonia group will be Annika Andersen, Jacob Martin, Hannah Pfotenhauer,and  Kaycie Sondrup. Visiting Trollhattan, Sweden will be pair of students, Caitlin O’Grady and Laura Schumann. The final group will visit Zhenjiang, China, Jessica Bass, Stephanie Brabson, Michelle Culbertson, and Megan Kelly.

Congratulations to all the students who participated in the selection process.  A special thank you to the selection committee who dedicated countless hours in interviews and getting to know each candidate. The selection committee was Carly Keller, Suzanne Bighorn, Dean Gambino, Craig Keller,  Dave Robertson, Susan McGill, Chris Rosner, and Marilyn Schalliol. The chairman was Michael Curd. It is an exciting process and all who volunteered made it a memorable several weeks.

Photo and Article by Lisa Maynard

Tempe Sister Cities